A Bit About Me

me11Hi, My name is Abbie Clark.  I’m a student at Lindenwood University, pursuing a degree in Advertising as well as Sales Management.  I have grown up in the St. Louis area, but am looking forward for a change of environment when I graduate from school.

Like many individuals my age, I am not 100% sure what I want to do after college.  I have many dreams and aspirations, but they are all so diverse that I am unsure how to go about accomplishing them.  Whatever I end up doing, I want to make a difference.  When you search my name on Google, I want to be more than just a person on Facebook or Twitter.  Which is all I currently am.  I want to be known for standing outside the norm.  Ideally I’d be known without people having to type my name into a piece of technology.

I have always had a passion for traveling and mission work.  When you hear that someone has a career in “advertising,” you don’t typically associate them with mission work in an underprivileged community.  My goal is to somehow use the degree I achieve, while also serving those who are less fortunate.

I have always looked up to people who are able to go against the “typical” flow of society.  Those who aren’t obsessed with money and fitting in to society, but those who desire to truly put others before themselves and serve.  My first goal when I graduate is to be a part of the World Race mission team.  I think it would be an eye opening experience and give me both an opportunity to travel and serve.

The World Race has existed since 2006, and is a “journey to eleven countries in eleven months to serve the least of these…it facilitates discipleship….and births partnerships with ministries around the world.”  The trip is obviously exhausting, and will certainly force me out of my comfort zone.  But, being a part of this great journey and learning how to serve and love those who are different than me is something I really desire to be a part of.  This program would shape my views of other cultures as well as educate me on different circumstance around the world which I tend to neglect.

I want to not only be comfortable, but also knowledgeable about each and every aspect of my life.  When I am confident about a certain subject, I love sharing the information with other people.  But, there are many areas in which I feel I lack enough experience and information to share.  I believe completing college and forcing myself to go outside of the norm by being a part of something like the World Race would really boost my longing to share life experiences.

I have already had the privilege of serving in other countries and love to share my experiences with others.  I have had many friends come to me on packing advice as well as advice on how to gain support when going on mission trips.  I love giving them this help because I know they are about to experience something life changing.  They are also about to use their gifts to serve those less fortunate and make a difference in others lives.

While my plans are tentative, I do have my mind made up about one thing.  I want to stand out.  While the majority of the people around me are encouraging me to focus on money and who I want to marry, I’m focusing on serving and living life to the fullest.  It really is too short to pass my by.  I’m not willing to just let the “wow” moments go untouched.

4 thoughts on “A Bit About Me

  1. Abbie,
    I love your passion to serve and I love that you want to be known for missions. I think it is incredible! I hope to one day google your name and have the first result be you and it be about you serving, hopefully with World Race.
    -Kelly

  2. I think it’s so great that you are focused on what you are passionate about instead of conforming to what other people think is normal! World Race sounds like an amazing opportunity to travel while still helping people.

Leave a Reply

